Nukkuaa is the first sleep lab for your home, helping people finally solve their sleep problems quickly and evidence-based.

Life is often hectic and challenging. That is why about a quarter of the population in western countries suffers from poor to very poor sleep quality. This has many negative consequences, also on society. To change this, the Salzburg-based sleep researcher Manuel Schabus began to develop an app. The Nukkuaa app does not only offer effective sleep therapy, but combines it with highly precise sleep analysis, almost like in a sleep lab. To this end, a sensor regularly measure biological data during sleep. The analytic algorithm achieves the highest accuracy in the field and makes Nukkuaa a real advancement.

Co - Founders & Core - Team

illu wolke3
illu wolke5

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Manuel Schabus

CSO

Head of the Sleep, Cognition and Consciousness Research Laboratory at the Centre for Cognitive Neuroscience Salzburg & psychotherapist​ & psychologist

Responsibility in Management Team: Scientific master plan | translating scientific findings into applied practice | AI concept for classification of sleep staged & AI based, individualized sleep training

Manuel schabus
illu wolke4 left
illu wolke left

Dr. Thomas Winkler

CEO

15 years of experience in leading and managing international expert teams; Managing Director of international consulting company; extensive organizational development experience; educational & research background in Cognitive Neuroscience​

Responsibility in Management Team:
Link between business & science | Business Model Planning | Customer Oriented Product Development | Online Performance Marketing | Relation to investors

685 DEBC4 9817 4 A58 B287 71 B1 F90 A7 F04
illu wolke3
illu wolke5

Michael Rosenzweig-Steiner

CTO

10 years of experience in managing one of the major APP development companies in Austria, allaboutapps​

Responsibility in Management Team: Business Model Planning | Customer Oriented APP Development | Online Performance Marketing | Relation to investors

Michael rosenzweig steiner
illu wolke4 left
illu wolke left

Dr. Christine Blume

Senior Scientist with focus on sleep and chronobiology (University of Basel & UPK Basel, CH)

Christine is a sleep researcher at the University of Basel and a psychologist in the sleep outpatient clinic of the University Psychiatric Clinics Basel. Already during her PhD, which she obtained at the University of Salzburg in 2016, she discovered the fascination of human sleep for herself. In her current research projects, she is particularly interested in the importance of natural daylight and artificial light for sleep. She is also an active and well-known science communicator on sleep-related topics (e.g. Deutschlandfunk Nova, ORF, SRF).

Christine blume
illu wolke3
illu wolke5

Theresa Hauser MSc

Psychologist & Psychotherapist ​in training​

Core-Responsibility as a research associate: Development of content for individualized sleep training based on evidence-based therapeutic approaches and translation into the digital world.

Sleepscience Portraits 27

Collaboration & ​Competence Partners​

As an expert partner in the field of performance marketing, domicom is supporting the project. Effective and efficient campaigns are one of the key success factors for the further development of nukkuaa.

As an expert partner dotsandlines was already supporting Nukkuaa with concept-development, user experience design, screen design, graphic design, corporate identity & branding input. Further development in those aspects will be one of the key success factors.

Polar is an established supplier of ​high quality yet affordable sensors. ​To ensure smooth communication between the sensors and the APP (software updates) as well as to adapt the handling of the sensors to customer needs (local storage of data on the sensors), we work together with Polar ​as a competence partner.

The focus and performance promise ​of the RB Athlete Performance Center ​is performance enhancement for ​selected top athletes. This also includes the optimal utilization of regenerative processes such as healthy sleep. In coordination with the APC, the APP ​offer can be expanded to include an additional target group.

As Scientific Director of the Red Bull Athlete Performance Center, Thomas leads and manages all initiatives around performance optimization at Red Bull. This also includes the optimal utilization of regenerative processes such as healthy sleep.

It is of high scientific interest to ​further accompany and research the classification of sleep phases based on ​AI algorithms, the effectiveness of the digital therapy as well as its individuation also in a scientific framework. The laboratory acts as a cooperation partner for the science-based evaluation and further development of the Nukkuaa product offer.

Through the IP exploitation agreement between PLUS and Nukkuaa GmbH, ​the economic exploitation of scientific know-how is on a legally sound and economically fair footing.

As part of the WISS 2025 research project, "Das Gesundheitshaus" has developed an off-body mattress sensor that accesses the AI algorithms developed in the project and can validly classify sleep phases. As soon as this sensor is ready for market, the plan is to also integrate this sensor into the Nukkuaa APP.

As the Dean of the newly founded faculty, Arne is also guiding the department of “Artificial Intelligence and Human Interfaces”. Arne is supporting the development of nukkuaa in his role as senior advisor.​

The Lab for Intelligent Data Analytics Salzburg (IDA Lab) funded by Land Salzburg (WISS 2025) serves as central facility for basic and applied research, as well as for knowledge and technology transfer in Data Science, Machine Learning and Statistics & Prof. Borgelt and his team are consulting and actively supporting the further development of AI algorithms to classify sleep stages in nukkuaa.​

Your contact for press inquiries

background shapes rosa

Download Nukkuaa starting in June

Get the Nukkuaa app starting in June and start your journey to healthy and better sleep with the power of science.

Phone mockup double

Eine neue App löst Schlafprobleme: Weil jede Person gut schlafen lernen kann.

Das Leben ist oft hektisch und herausfordernd. Deshalb leidet etwa ein Viertel der Menschen in westlichen Ländern an schlechter bis sehr schlechter Schlafqualität – mit vielen negativen Folgen, auch für die Gesellschaft. Um das zu ändern begann der Salzburger Schlafforscher Manuel Schabus eine App zu entwickeln, die nicht nur eine wirkungsvolle Schlaftherapie bietet, sondern diese auch mit einer hochpräzisen Schlafanalyse wie im Schlaflabor verbindet. Sensoren messen regelmäßig biologische Daten im Schlaf. Ein Algorithmus zur Auswertung der Daten erreicht die höchste Genauigkeit in diesem Feld und macht Nukkuaa zu einer echten Weiterentwicklung.

Gründer & Kernteam

illu wolke3
illu wolke5

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Manuel Schabus

CSO

Leiter des Labors für Schlaf-, Kognitions- und Bewusstseinsforschung am Zentrum für Kognitive Neurowissenschaften Salzburg & Psychotherapeut & Psychologe

Verantwortung im Management Team: Wissenschaftlicher Masterplan | Umsetzung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in die angewandte Praxis | KI-Konzept zur Klassifizierung von Schlafstadien & KI-basiertes, individualisiertes Schlaftraining

Manuel schabus
illu wolke4 left
illu wolke left

Dr. Thomas Winkler

CEO

15 Jahre Erfahrung in der Führung und im Management von internationalen Expertenteams; Managing Director eines internationalen Beratungsunternehmens; umfangreiche Erfahrung in Organisationsentwicklung; Ausbildungs- und Forschungshintergrund in Kognitiver Neurowissenschaft

Verantwortung im Management Team:
Bindeglied zwischen Business & Wissenschaft | Geschäftsmodellplanung | Kundenorientierte Produktentwicklung | Online Performance Marketing | Beziehung zu Investoren

685 DEBC4 9817 4 A58 B287 71 B1 F90 A7 F04
illu wolke3
illu wolke5

Michael Rosenzweig-Steiner

CTO

10 Jahre Erfahrung in der Leitung eines der größten APP-Entwicklungsunternehmen in Österreich, allaboutapps

Verantwortung im Management Team: Geschäftsmodellplanung | Kundenorientierte APP-Entwicklung | Online Performance Marketing | Beziehung zu Investoren

Michael rosenzweig steiner
illu wolke4 left
illu wolke left

Dr. Christine Blume

Senior Scientist mit Schwerpunkt Schlaf und Chronobiologie (Universität Basel & UPK Basel, CH)

Christine ist Schlafforscherin an der Universität Basel und Psychologin in der Schlafambulanz der Universitären Psychiatrischen Kliniken Basel. Bereits während ihrer Promotion, die sie an der Universität Salzburg im Jahr 2016 erlangte, hat sie die Faszination des menschlichen Schlafs für sich entdeckt. In ihren aktuellen Forschungsprojekten interessiert sie sich vor allem für die Bedeutung von natürlichem Tageslicht und künstlichem Licht für den Schlaf. Sie ist außerdem gefragte Wissenschaftskommunikatorin zu schlafbezogenen Themen (z.B. Deutschlandfunk Nova, ORF, SRF) bekannt und aktiv.

Christine blume
illu wolke3
illu wolke5

Theresa Hauser MSc

Psychologin und Psychotherapeutin in Ausbildung

Als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin verantwortlich für die Entwicklung von Inhalten für ein individualisiertes Schlaftrainingsprogramm auf der Basis evidenzbasierter Therapieansätze und deren Umsetzung in die digitale Welt.

Sleepscience Portraits 27

Kompetenzpartner

Als kompetenter Partner im Bereich des Performance-Marketings unterstützt domicom das Projekt. Effektive und effiziente Kampagnen sind einer der wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren für die weitere Entwicklung von Nukkuaa.

Als kompetenter Partner unterstützte dotsandlines Nukkuaa bereits in den Bereichen Konzeptentwicklung, User Experience Design, Screendesign, Grafikdesign, Corporate Identity & Branding. Die Weiterentwicklung in diesen Bereichen wird einer der wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren sein.

Polar ist ein etablierter Anbieter von Sensoren von hoher Qualität und zu erschwinglichen Preisen. Um eine reibungslose Kommunikation zwischen den Sensoren und der APP (Software-Updates) zu gewährleisten sowie die Handhabung der Sensoren an die Kundenbedürfnisse anzupassen (lokale Speicherung der Daten auf den Sensoren), arbeiten wir mit Polar als Kompetenzpartner zusammen.

Der Fokus und das Leistungsversprechen des RB Athlete Performance Centers ist die Leistungssteigerung für ausgewählte Spitzensportler. Dazu gehört auch die optimale Nutzung regenerativer Prozesse wie gesunder Schlaf. In Abstimmung mit dem APC kann das APP-Angebot um eine weitere Zielgruppe erweitert werden.

Als wissenschaftlicher Leiter des Red Bull Athlete Performance Center leitet und verwaltet Thomas alle Initiativen zur Leistungsoptimierung bei Red Bull. Dazu gehört auch die optimale Nutzung von regenerativen Prozessen wie gesunder Schlaf.

Es ist von hohem wissenschaftlichen Interesse, die die Klassifizierung von Schlafphasen auf Basis von AI-Algorithmen AI-Algorithmen, die Wirksamkeit der digitalen Therapie sowie deren Individualisierung auch in einem wissenschaftlichen Rahmen zu begleiten und zu erforschen. Das Labor fungiert als Kooperationspartner für die wissenschaftsbasierte Evaluation und Weiterentwicklung des Nukkuaa-Produktangebots.

Durch den IP-Verwertungsvertrag zwischen PLUS und Nukkuaa GmbH steht die wirtschaftliche Verwertung des wissenschaftlichen Know-hows auf einer rechtlich sicheren und wirtschaftlich fairen Basis.

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts WISS 2025 hat "Das Gesundheitshaus" einen Off-Body-Matratzensensor entwickelt, der auf die im Projekt entwickelten KI-Algorithmen zugreift und Schlafphasen valide klassifizieren kann. Sobald dieser Sensor marktreif ist, ist geplant, diesen Sensor auch in die Nukkuaa APP zu integrieren.

Als Dekan der neu gegründeten Fakultät leitet Arne auch die Abteilung "Artificial Intelligence and Human Interfaces". Arne unterstützt die Entwicklung von nukkuaa in seiner Rolle als Senior Advisor.

Das vom Land Salzburg (WISS 2025) geförderte "Lab for Intelligent Data Analytics Salzburg (IDA Lab)" dient als zentrale Einrichtung für Grundlagen- und angewandte Forschung sowie für Wissens- und Technologietransfer in den Bereichen Data Science, Machine Learning und Statistik & Prof. Borgelt und sein Team beraten und unterstützen aktiv die Weiterentwicklung von AI-Algorithmen zur Klassifizierung von Schlafstadien in Nukkuaa.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für Presseanfragen

background shapes rosa

Ab Juni Nukkuaa downloaden

Hol dir ab Juni die Nukkuaa App und starte mit der Kraft der Wissenschaft deinen Weg zu gesundem und besserem Schlaf.

Phone mockup double